Ambassador Liu
  Video & Audio
  Former Ambassadors
China-UK Relations
  Political Exchanges
  Economy & Trade
  Science & Tech
  Local Exchanges
Embassy Information
  Embassy Events
  Tour the Embassy
  Office Hours and Address
  Economic and Commercial Counsellor’s Office
  Education Section
Consulate-General in the UK

Chinese Embassy in UK WeChat

Chinese Embassy in UK
Home > China-UK Events > 2011
China Elected as a Category A Member of the IMO Council for the Twelfth Consecutive Time


In the afternoon of November 25, the new Council Members of the International Maritime Organization (IMO) were elected at its 27th General Assembly. China was re-elected as a Category A Member of the Council. Other elected Category A Members include Japan, Korea, Norway, Greece, the UK, Italy, Russia, the United States and Panama.

IMO is a United Nations’ specialized agency for maritime safety, security and the prevention of marine pollution. Currently it has 170 member states, of which 155 participated in the election at this session of the General Assembly. The biennial General Assembly is IMO’s supreme authority and the election of Council Members is one major item on its agenda. As the executive body of the General Assembly, the Council exercises the functions of the General Assembly between the sessions. The Council Members fall in three categories, namely Category A, Category B and Category C. The 10 Category A Members are the countries with the greatest interest in international shipping services, the 10 Category B Members are those with the greatest interest in international maritime trade and the 20 Category C Members represent the countries with special interests in sea transportation in the main regions around the world.

The Chinese government always attaches great importance to maritime safety, security and marine environmental protection. It has actively participated in the development of the international maritime conventions and rules under the framework of IMO and the effectively implemented them. China has also made positive contributions to the promotion of pragmatic cooperation in the Straits of Malacca, the escort missions against Somali piracy and the maintenance of the normal navigation order and regional safety and peace. Since its election in 1989 at the 16th General Assembly, China has been elected as a Category A Member for 12 consecutive times.

Suggest to a Friend
Embassy of the People's Republic of China in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland All Rights Reserved